• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Body Part Question

truckeejeeper

NAXJA Forum User
Well I may as well get all my questions out there since Im online here. I have some major rust at the lower corners of my windshield area. Two big holes there. Looked like most of the water is running into the engine compartment but just last week we had buckets of rain and I got water into floorboards on driver and pass. sides. Assuming its coming from the holes of course. Thinking of cutting out rust and welding in new pieces but its looks kinda tricky with the curves and windsheild and all, Im a novice welder. I see online a CAPA (?) front fender for about $150. Can I just buy something like this and bolt it on? Or is that a weld-on part. Any help on this is greatly appreciated- this forum is the best. I am desperately trying to save my beloved 91 sport for a few more Tahoe winters and summers. Thanks- TJ

is it the FENDER or the COWL that is rusted thru?? the fender does not cover any access to the inner body, its just mounted on the outside of the body.. the windshield frame is a common spot for rust.. it gets down in the channel and eats away... it can be fixed but it would require removal of the glass to get it right..