• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Slack in steering

WV Jeeper

NAXJA Forum User
I just got an '88 XJ tonight and while I was test driving I noticed some slack in the steering (hopefully nothing serious). I was wondering what are some things to look for and check out. Like I mentioned in my first thread, I'm a newbie to Jeeps. So any/all info is greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Jason

WV Jeeper said:
I just got an '88 XJ tonight and while I was test driving I noticed some slack in the steering (hopefully nothing serious). I was wondering what are some things to look for and check out. Like I mentioned in my first thread, I'm a newbie to Jeeps. So any/all info is greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Jason

look at the universal joint in the steering colum between the fire wall and the steering box.. i have seen the bushings in the coupling go bad and allow for a bit of "unresponsiveness" in the steering effort..