• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

XJ D44 years?

SNOWBLIND

NAXJA Forum User
i'm looking for a stock D44 out of an xj. anyone know what years or models or packages i should be looking for?
i was hoping to do so some wrecking yard shopping in hopes to find a D44 to build.
thanks

I have a D44 but I'm by no means an expert. From what I know they were in SOME XJs with the towing package from 1987-1989 and had 3.54 gears with the automatic. I'm not sure what manuals had, but I don't think there was any choice in ratio (no 3.73 or 4.10 gears availible as a factory option). Hope this helps.

These XJ44 rears are getting harder and harder to find in good shape and unwheeled.

Look for 87-88s with tow package. Most come 3.54 gears and trac-locs.

They will run you anywhere from 150- 400 depending on if the seller knows what he has. I picked up a low mileage one for $350 drum to drum, maintained and never wheeled it's whole life.

Good luck

usually 87, but they are in the 87-89's and the MJ as well. Don't forget them as they are the most overlooked. Got mine from one and welded the spring plates and shock mounts on.

check www.car-part.com

search for :
Jeep Cherokee (Except Grand Cherokee)
Rear Axle Assy (RWD)
your state

then select Spcr 44 or dana 44 with the gear ratio of your choice that should give you a good idea as to availability...

XJ_ranger said:
check www.car-part.com

search for :
Jeep Cherokee (Except Grand Cherokee)
Rear Axle Assy (RWD)
your state

then select Spcr 44 or dana 44 with the gear ratio of your choice that should give you a good idea as to availability...
Maybe.