• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

mp231 tcase

ogg

NAXJA Forum User
hey all
im having a bit(understatement) of trobles wit my tranny and/or tcase
i've got the whole thing on my shop bench
apart(lol)
the tranny seems fine but im no expert.....just feels smooth when i turn the shafts
the tcase on the other hand isnt so smooth
berings seem a little noisy and the chain seems to have a lot of slop
here is the thing
the jeep was stolen out of my yard one fine evening
and when the police found it i went to get it right away
when i got there i jumped in started it up put her 1st and tried to drive away
no luck
i jumped out ...looked underneath...no driveshaft
so i jumped in and threw it in 4wheel-peel to get it home and when i accelerated i heard the most heartbreaking noise a jeeplover could ever hear.....the worst grinding noise IVE ever heard
so here i am with it apart and found that the main shaft was broke in HALF if u can believe that...
so i located a used one
slapped her back togeather
slapped the whole thing back togeather and put it in the jeep
put it in gear started her up
tried to move and grinding again
but it would move alittle
so out it came and here it is apart again
i noticed that there is quite a bit of slop and am wondering if maby the chain got streched and it could possibally be slippin on the gears....
i am definatlly no expert so ant guidence or opinions or anything would be greatlly appericeated
thanks alot
ogg

you can rebuild one for about 150 bucks or you can get one from the junkyard for about the same

sounds like when you drove it home all the fluid may have leaked out of the rear seal and could of spun a couple of bearings

i'd say rebuild it, its a good experience to do

i had it towed home....wouldnt move, main shaft in tcase was broke in half.