• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

'01 XJ - Regearing Questions

gordynor

NAXJA Forum User
So I want to change out the gears in my 01 XJ but I don't know enough about what's involved, etc. My questions are:

- What's the stock spec on an '01 (Dana 30, 35 , 40 with what gear ratio)?
- I run 31x10.5 BFG AT with a 3" lift and intake/exhaust mods... what gearing should I go with? 4.10, 4.56, 4.88? I don't expect to be rock crawling.
- what can I expect to pay for parts (no lockers now...)?
- If I change out the gears, how will it alter my MPG (this is a DD)
- where can I find the parts.

This is my 4th Jeep in 6 or 7 years. I have plenty of experience under the hood and off road, but never had the dough to change out the gears so this will be my first axel job. Any suggestions?

----------------------------------------
'01 XJ Sport 4.0L, 31x10.5 BFG AT, Rusty's 3", bored-out TB, TBS, K&N, Flowmaster 40 cat-back w 2.5 pipe, etc

what kind of tranny you running

i would say 4.10's for 31's

If you don't think you want to go bigger than 31's than the 4.10 gears will be fine and you can find them in 4 banger xjs with an manual. The auto 4 banger should be 3.73 which is not too bad either. What do you have now (tranny, gearing, etc)? If there is a chance that you will go to 32's or 33's than get the 4.56 gears or even 4.88s if you swap out your rear axle for a dana 44. If you have the 8.25 back there than your max will be 4.56 gears.
Troy

As far as I know it's a stock transmission. I would like to have the option to go with 33's in the future... with that in mind, would the 4.10 still be a good choice?