• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Tailshaft Bushing Replacement

Moose_God

NAXJA Forum User
Hi everybody, I'm a newbie to this forum but I've been on Jeepforum.com for a while. I posted this on the other forum, but nobody over there seemed to know about it. I bent the driveshaft on my '94 2wd XJ (yeah, I know what you're thinking) and it wore out the tailshaft bushing on the transmission. Has anybody here replaced one? Is it labor intensive/expensive/anything like that?

There is an ouput bearing and their is a slip yoke type babbit bearing. If you are talking about the babbit bearing/bushing, it is a pretty easy task. You pull the driveshaft slipyoke out, remove the 3 or 4 bolts holding the tailcone assembly, depending on if it is an NP231 or NP242. Tap the assembly with a deadblow hammer to get it to come off. Once it is off you should be able to see the bearing. Find a socket or bushing driver the right size, and use a hammer to tap the babbit bearing out. The new one can be pressed in using much the same techinique. If you don't want to mess with pressing the old one out and such, just show up at your local automotive machine shop with the replacement bushing and I bet you can get it done for $10 while you wait. Around here the going rate is a cold sixpack on Friday afternoon.

Doing the bigger shaft bearing requires taking the next casting off on some models, but on others you can just use a pair of snap ring pliers to remove the retaining ring and the bearing will come right out.

Either way it isn't a particularly hard or technical job. In a shop with good tools it should be less than an hour of labor.

By the way, remember to replace the output shaft seal while you are at it. You already have it apart and the seal is only a few bucks.

Welcome to NAXJA.

old_man said: