• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Tips for rear main, bearings?

Damon Dimick

NAXJA Forum User
Bought this lovely 88 for $500, and am going through fixing all the crap which had been neglected for 215k. So the rear main is leaking like a sieve, along with all of the other seals on the 4.0. The plan is to do new bearings while I have the pan off, but I've never done them before, or replaced a rear main before. Any tips/tricks/advice that you guys could lend for install? Also, will there be a need for 'oversized bearings'...explain that to me. This is my first time doing any bottom end work, so I'm a sponge for your info. Thanks.

take a good look at the bearings, the rod bearings will definitely look worse than the mains. as far as needing oversize bearings, once you get the crank out, take it to a machine shop and get an expert opinion on the shape of the crank (since you've never done this before) but basically, if there's any ridges in the crank's surface, you will want them ground off, hence the need for oversize bearings.

also, have the machinist put a micrometer on the crank to see if it's already been ground. you can only go so far, and measurement is the best way to know what bearings you need.

also, be sure that you have a good torque wrench. the dial type are the best to use for this. your machinist should be able to get you the torque sequence and specs for everything. (if i remember correctly, for the mains, starting from the center and rotating clockwise out from the center, you torque to 20lb-ft then 40lb-ft then 80lb ft.

don't forget to get "engine assembly lube" and coat the bearings in it.

215k isn't that much. I didn't get the impression the plan here included pulling the crank, and I don't think it's necessary.