• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Lift Question (sorry)

lobsterdmb

Just a Lobster Minion
NAXJA Member
I am going to order a Rusty's 3 inch AAL kit on monday for my 96 XJ. I am going to run 31's on it. I know I need longer rear bumpstops to prevent rubbing, but are there any other suggestions on what I need to get with it? I am a college student so I am trying to keep this on a tight budget.

Johnny

Edited (I meant 31's, sorry for the typo) :rolleyes:

Last edited:
Hey man, I am running Rusty's 3". It yielded a lil more than 3" for me, but there is no way I would be able to run 33's on it. Are you planning on whipping out the sawzall and doing some major cutting? Might wanna do soem searches on the board an see what people are running with what. Hopefully you didnt buy those meats or the lift yet. You'll prolly need to change one or the other.

Don't spend extra money 'til you have to...

I've got the same kit on my '97 and am running Bridgestone Dueler A/T 31x10.5 on stock rims (actually measure to about 29"). The only thing I added besides the kit was a 1" t-case drop to cure some vibes I had (make it yourself for near nothing) and I didn't do that until after the install. Just put the kit on and see what issues you have after you run it awhile, shouldn't be anything "major". You can start making adjustments like t-case drop, axle shim or bump stops, etc. from there.

Have fun!

You might hit the back of the rear wheel wells a little. With stock rims I also started to hit the control arms a bit but it was nothing serious. I have a '97 also. I'm with LawlessXJ though. Just put the lift on and trim a little or live with it.
The days of everything fitting perfectly will be over but this is where it gets interesting and that's half the fun.
mattk

lobsterdmb said: