• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Newbe - lift questions/recommendation

steveareno

NAXJA Forum User
I am new to NAXJA (please help and be gentle) and have resently purchased a 99 XJ sport. I did research and decided on the 99. I am now doing research on the "right" suspension lift. I have searched your website and talked to vendors and manufactors.
This is a DD and I want to lift between 3-4", allowing 30-31" tires. It will be heavy with front and rear iron bumpers, front winch and rocker slides. It will be used mostly for highway and then recreation in sand, mud and hunting trails.
Talked to Dirk, DPG, helpful and suggested OME 934, rear leafs with JCXL and SYE. Talked to my 4x4 mechanic, he said no, it would result in no lift with that weight. I talked about RE, he said "crap", recommended Fabtech.
Any experince addressing the following would be appreciated:
Will the OEM 3"" with extra leaf provide 3" lift with added weight?
Will OEM hold up and not sag?
Who had experience with a 3"-31/2 RE on a daily driver?
Any experience with Fabtech?
Doing it right once, regardless of cost, will be better/cheaper than doing it several times.
thanks, Steveareno

to clear 30's or 31's you can keep your suspention semi stock, see this post:
http://www.naxja.org/forum/showthread.php?t=35047
it really wouldnt take all that much sawzal to fit 30" tires (im stuffing 235/75 ~ 29" on a stock suspention with no trimming)
i really wouldnt lift 3~4 inches for 31" tires... seems like a waste to me.

as for all the weight, if you search for the threads where people have sleved their unibody "frame rails" in 3/16" steel... there is some weight...
there was also a thread in modified tech asking the weight ov everyone's vehicle.