PDA

View Full Version : Drilling the UCA mounts on the 5.5 RE extreme kit


turdles
August 14th, 2004, 18:05
RE gives you grade 8 bolts to replace the stock UCA mounts bolts. The RE bolts are 1/2" and the stock ones are smaller. Do i need to drill out the stock holes to fit the 1/2" bolt or will my stock bolt be fine?

Kejtar
August 14th, 2004, 19:54
RE gives you grade 8 bolts to replace the stock UCA mounts bolts. The RE bolts are 1/2" and the stock ones are smaller. Do i need to drill out the stock holes to fit the 1/2" bolt or will my stock bolt be fine?
Mine bolted in fine.

frsno jeeper
August 14th, 2004, 20:09
i had to drill mine

Mike L
August 14th, 2004, 20:30
RE gives you grade 8 bolts to replace the stock UCA mounts bolts. The RE bolts are 1/2" and the stock ones are smaller. Do i need to drill out the stock holes to fit the 1/2" bolt or will my stock bolt be fine?

Are you speaking of having to drill out the stock mount to bolt in the drop brackets? If that is your question then yes you need to drill it out. I had to drill mine out and numerous others with the drop brackets had to do the same.

-Mike

Kejtar
August 14th, 2004, 21:48
Are you speaking of having to drill out the stock mount to bolt in the drop brackets? If that is your question then yes you need to drill it out. I had to drill mine out and numerous others with the drop brackets had to do the same.

-Mike
oh... if this is a drop bracket issue then I retract my statement... I got no clue.

Lonestar
August 14th, 2004, 22:10
had to drill mine

ChEwBaCcA
August 15th, 2004, 10:39
yes you need to drill the stock hole...... have a beer or smoke if needs be and get to work.

Chewy