• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

are all 4.0s the same?

You get some pretty good results by searching before asking questions like that as well...

spazegun2213 said:
really, for all the years jeep made the 4.0 are they all the same engine with all the same parts?

thanks

The basic architecture of all the 4.0's is the same but there were minor detail changes made to the engine over the years, resulting in different HP/TQ outputs. My site has all the details.

ok, all the site tells me are some intresting tid bits about HP, i realy want to know about the internals, like intake, headers, pistons, etc.

sorry, as i said I'm a newbie and dont know how to word my questions correctly.

spazegun2213 said:
ok, all the site tells me are some intresting tid bits about HP, i realy want to know about the internals, like intake, headers, pistons, etc.

sorry, as i said I'm a newbie and dont know how to word my questions correctly.

Don't worry, not all of us are like Yucca-man, I do tell peolple to search, but I usaully try it myself first. Sometimes it works really well, but if your don't have the right keywords or you are screwed.

The earlier XJ's had the Renix intake system, the later years has the Chysler High Output system. I believe the change over was in 91'. There is also a change at the end of the production of the XJ in 99-00.

The blocks are basically the same as far as I know, the only differences are intakes, headers and timing/computer systems. You should be able to find the details in a search. Try renix or HO, they should help in the search.

Intakes and headers are not "interrnals."

There are too many variations to go into from memory, but in general there are three variations on the 4.0L.