• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Metal workers.....is this safe?

GI-John

NAXJA Forum User
I just recieved my new winch today, (REP 8.5E....18 months smoke free present) and I started fabbing up a temporary (until I can get a winch bumper) mount. I'm using 1/4" wall tube, and 2x and 3x 1/4" angle iron

Pics of the mount

Everything is just tacked on, and I plan to have a professional weld it together.

Is this safe? I really don't want to kill anyone with a bad mount, or just poor planning on my part.

Here is my reasoning ...the total "welded length" will be 18" on the angle iron mount vs. 16" max (I'm guessing) on a piece of flat plate....more welded length= more strength

Please tell me if my thinking is wrong on this one...as I'm fairly new to the whole fabrication thing

I would cut 4 2" long pieces of that angle iron, and put them like gussets under the angle iron conecting to the piece going into the reciever. And maybe 2 streachers conecting the angle iron front to back.

Yes it did...

I also got a few ideas from another board ....gusset the angle to the tube, and connect the angle Iron

Thanks!

"but if it's a side pull it needs more reinforcement to keep the angle from twisting on the tube" Thats why I recomende the small pieces of angle conecting to agle that is on there now to the tube and the 2 pieces running front to back on the connecting the angle.