• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Thermal Fuse on 97+ XJ???

99greenjeeper

NAXJA Forum User
My HVAC fan is only working on the #4 position. 1,2,and 3 give me nothing. I know it has to do with the Thermal Fuse and I know where that is on a pre-97 XJ but don't know where it is on my 99 Classic. If anyone can help me it would be much appreciated.

-Dave

Dave,

Sounds to me like it is not a fuse but the blower motor resistor block. That is located under the dash behind the right kick panel on a 2000, probably the same location on the 99.

Good luck,
Tom

Can anyone walk me through finding the blower motor resistor block and what I should do to see if this is my culprit??? I have very little electrical experience on my XJ.

thanks,
Dave

if the blower only works on high, that means the blower motor is good. if none of the other speeds work then the resistor is bad. 12 volts run directly from the switch to the blower motor that gives you high speed. for the lower speeds the switch sends current through a series of coils in the resistor, depending on which switch position, makes the different fan speeds. sounds like you dont have any current leaving the blower resistor. the resistor is located in the heater case on the passenger side behind the black "bubble" shaped shield. do not run the blower with the new resistor just hanging down under the dash. it will burn it out quickly. it needs the cooler air from the blower to pass over it to keep it cool.

someone here has a writeup, i just can't recall who. it is the blower motor resistor pack. I had the same exact problem on my 2000. turns out all the resistors were good but one of my wires was coroded. remove, clean, reinstall and it worked like new. it is under the glove box.