• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

C-Clip Eliminators?

STL Enterprises

NAXJA Forum User
Hello, I'm new to the XJ world - Been driving a highly modified CJ-7 (V8, NV4500, 4.11 gearing, 4:1 D300) for 12 years. Of course, I deluded myself into thinking I'd just leave the XJ stock, but after 10 days, that old familiar itch is starting to show!

I had Ford 9" w/ Detroits front & rear on my CJ, but am looking at the Explorer 8.8 for the XJ rear end. I see there is a recurring theme about the C-Clip, but no postings that I've found comment on the C-clip eliminators (Moser, Reider, etc.). Would that solve the issues with the 8.8? My intent is NOT HD off-roading with this vehicle, but one never knows the future :) At this point, I'd just like some larger tires (31" or 32"), and some sort of traction aid as both diffs are open.

Thanks
Larry

STL Enterprises said:
Hello, I'm new to the XJ world - Been driving a highly modified CJ-7 (V8, NV4500, 4.11 gearing, 4:1 D300) for 12 years. Of course, I deluded myself into thinking I'd just leave the XJ stock, but after 10 days, that old familiar itch is starting to show!

I had Ford 9" w/ Detroits front & rear on my CJ, but am looking at the Explorer 8.8 for the XJ rear end. I see there is a recurring theme about the C-Clip, but no postings that I've found comment on the C-clip eliminators (Moser, Reider, etc.). Would that solve the issues with the 8.8? My intent is NOT HD off-roading with this vehicle, but one never knows the future :) At this point, I'd just like some larger tires (31" or 32"), and some sort of traction aid as both diffs are open.

Thanks
Larry