• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Comming soon to an XJ near you..

G.Q. Jeeper

NAXJA Forum User
Well its lift install time this weekend on my 1994 XJ, I have a RE6020 kit and 4 Skyjacker Hydros getting tucked under the XJ, so now what can I expect when doing this lift? I have never done one before, however me and my good buddy who is a great mechanic is doing this, I just want to know what should I expect when doing this lift? and what should I buy new as well, I am also getting the tow hooks installed and I am wondering on the size and grade strenght of the bolts to replace when the hooks and brackets get installed, any info will be great

GQ

Wow, I could go one for quite a while with alot of stuff, but I would say the biggest thing I want to advise on no body else will agree with me. You will most likely break all 4 bolts on the rear shocks. Instead of drilling and tapping for hours, or cutting up your interior....

Buy some grade 8 bolts and nuts, put nuts in a LONG wrench, tape in place, slide into body from under truck, from center going out in slits in body, run bolt thru bar pin, and tighten, very easy to do. I did steal this idea, from Deke. You will understand once under jeep.

Also, have a good torch handy.

Be ready for some fun. I was blown away where my XJ went this weekend. I thought I would need a hitch and pull several times, never once got pulled though. Went into one hole so fast it soaked my stock air filter so bad it would not start! I have a 97 XJ with RE 3.5 with 31 GY MTr's. no lockers.... yet.

Hey thanks for the heads up.....

Just want to prepare for what is going to break and what I should buy that is not contained in the kit...will let you know how it is doing once installed

GQ