• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Knocking from rear while braking?

robeport

NAXJA Forum User
I'm new to the Jeep world so I am looking for a bit of help here. I recently bought a 92 Cherokee with 85,000 on it. The thing runs and drives great, but I am getting a knocking noise from the rear when I apply the brakes. This is the only time I hear it and its seems to only happen when I apply medium pressure to the brakes. If I brake hard it doesn't happen. The knocks also seem to be speed related, the slower I go, the slower it knocks. Any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

I assume you've made at least a cursory look under there for loose things such as a shock mount, broken spring leaf, etc.

A couple of possibilities come to mind. First, the self-adjusters on these rear brakes are pretty notorious for failing, and if one brake has gone way off, it could knock when engaging. You should open them up anyway, just to inspect everything. Although the mileage is pretty low, the age is sufficient for rust problems to develop. Look especially at the adjuster cables, which can rust right off, and the "nails" that hold the shoes to the backing plate, which can rust, as can the springs between shoe and plate. Those can make noise when they go. The good news is that the hardware for these brakes is pretty cheap and easy to find. When you put them back together it's a good idea to do a manual adjustment. Even if the adjusters look all right, I don't trust them actually to do the job consistently.