• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

33's with Dana 35

XJBill

NAXJA Forum User
What do you guys think about runnin' 33" tires on a D35 C-clip with a Lock Right locker? Will I break alot of shafts or am I relatively safe. I am prepared to break one a year but do you think it will happen more often? I am currently running this setup without the locker and haven't broken yet. I live in PA so the terrain is mostly mud, rocky creek beds, and hill climbs. So, what do you think?

I'd be very careful.

I run Paragon with 33" and a Dana 35 with ARB. I haven't broken one yet but I know the day will come. I do drive more careful and don't try to horse it up anything for that point. But I will live. I have been running that set up for over 3 years now without problems. But just drive careful and watch your spotter, don't drive like you stole it and it will live. Juice

it's gonna depend greatly on the terrain and how heavy your right foot is.

i wheeled my MJ with 33s on the D35 on Fordyce trail (like Rubicon) and was stupid on the gas pedal. key word: stupid. I didn't break, but I had an open diff and I'm sure that's what saved me. I did carry spare shafts though, and it was an '88, so no need to mess with c-clips.

I actually have a quicktime video from Fordyce that for a frame or two all 4 of my tires are in the air from using too much stupid pedal to get over some boulders :D

It has everything to do with the terain and your driving style......and fatigue over time. Get that rear end in a bind, between rocks or up against a ledge, and it can snap like a tooth pick.....seen it many times. Obviously, it will last longer in mud than it will on dry rock, just be careful and always carry spares.