• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

High pinion D30 vs. low

Okay, but I guess I'm looking for the engineering reason. Quite a few Grand Cherokee owners (with LP) seem to be doing well with moderate lifts and tires. I'm not questioning the answer, just trying to find what it's based on. Also, what are the advantages?

Last edited:
gator_grabber said:
Okay, but I guess I'm looking for the engineering reason. Quite a few Grand Cherokee owners (with LP) seem to be doing well with moderate lifts and tires. I'm not questioning the answer, just trying to find what it's based on. Also, what are the advantages?
I'm no engineer, but here goes...
The HP axle has two big advantages. The first is strength of the R&P setup. The HP axle is a reverse-cut gear, and uses the strong side of the ring gear. The set-up is also more precise, as it uses shims for the pinion depth and preload, instead of a crush sleeve like the LP axle.
The other advantage is driveshaft angle. With the driveshaft coming into the diff above the axle tube instead of below, the u-joint operates at less of an angle. This is VERY helpful at lifted heights.

Thanks, that's the kind of info that's helpful. I knew that there had to be something other than the driveline angle at play, so this really helps. Are there any other issues with the axles, U-joints, etc.?

gator_grabber said:
Thanks, that's the kind of info that's helpful. I knew that there had to be something other than the driveline angle at play, so this really helps. Are there any other issues with the axles, U-joints, etc.?
I'm glad it helped. I'm not sure what other "issues" you were looking for...?