• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

3.6L build opinions

CW

NAXJA Forum User
This came up in another thread but its an interesting idea (at least to me) so I decided to start a different thread. I did the math and using a 199cid crank and a .030 overbore the engine displacement becomes 215.6ci (3.6L). Using 4.0L rods, and silvolite hypereutectic pistons with a 11.5cc dish, an a MP .043 head gasket. I came up with a CR of 7.50:1 and a quench height of .068". This is my first attempt at these calculations so I'm not completly confident that they are accurate. On desktop dyno 2000 this engine, along with larger valves, and a 260h cam makes 245hp@5500 and 266lb/ft@4000. This would be a much faster reving engine, and because the 199 crank is forged it would have a much higher redline. And with a CR around 7.50, a large amount of boost is an option. What do you guys think? Would it be worth it to try this?

A destroked engine based on the 4.0 block with a 3.00" stroke crank and 3.905" bore (0.030" overbore) would be sweet and make for a fast revving engine, especially with a forged crank. The only problem with your proposed setup is that the Silvolite pistons won't work and here's the reason:

Deck height = rod length + stroke/2 + piston pin height + deck clearance

Assuming that you're using the 4.0 rods, let's substitute some numbers into the equation:

9.453 = 6.125 + 1.50 + 1.581 + deck clearance
Deck clearance = 0.247"

So the pistons will be nearly 1/4" down the hole at TDC. Not viable, but there is a solution. Get a set of custom forged pistons made (if you're supercharging, they'll be far better than Silvolite cast units anyway) with a pin height of 1.828" so that you're left with zero deck clearance. If you then use a Mopar Performance P4529242 head gasket, quench will come in at 0.043".