• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Rebuilding Dana 35

shapps13

NAXJA Forum User
I know some will say don't waste your time, but this is what I have right now.
I have a rear out of an 86xj and am changing the gears to 4:10 with all new bearings,the gears are used and in good shape. When I pulled the carrier out of the axle it just kind of fell out into my hands. Now,I have never done a gear change before but have searched on the particulars and everything that I've read says the carrier should have a slight press fit to it. I know in the dana30 I have I used the rag method to get the carrier out of the housing and when the carrier fell out of the 35 I was a little bit concerned, bent housing maybe ? I have also read that there are shims between the pinion bearing and pinion , but there are none on this one. There is a thick shim between the inner pinion bearing cup and the housing.
Any thoughts?
Bill

you do know there is alot to setting gears right. I mean tools alone cost in the neighborhood of $200 you gotta set pinion depth and backlash and bearing preload lots of stuff. Just make sure you know what your doing. I have all the tools and still don't trust myself to do my own I will spend the $75 to have a shop do them for me.
DIG IT!

Just My Opinions and hopefully a little help

I found a good link on building a rear dif at http://www.drivetrain.com/ringpinioninstal.html

It looks pretty thorough, but I haven't had the time to really digest it. 20 years ago I worked as a truck mechanic, but it's been a couple of decades since I built a rear end.

I know that you're probably going to hear a lot of this, but if you can go with a Dana 44 and don't bother with the Dana 35. I'm in the process of building one and adding disc brakes while I'm at it.