• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

electrical/wireing assistance

jallen

NAXJA Forum User
i'm going to re-do the lights on the back of my rig. the lights that i plan to use have 2 bulbs inside each housing, each with its own positive lead (and one common ground). i want to run a three way switch in an on-off-auto fashion.

when the switch is in the "auto" mode, i want only one of the bulbs in each light to activate through a relay tied to the OEM reverse lights. when the switch is in the "on" mode i want both bulbs in each light to activate through a relay tied to a continuous power source.

the following is a diagram that i think will work (it's rather obvious that i'm not an electrical engineer).

pic.php

the purple circles with arrows are supposed to be diodes.

my first question is, will this work?
my second question is, do i need another diode where the big blue arrow is?
my third question is, what kind/type/size of diodes do i need?

TIA.

If you use a double pole double throw switch you don't need any diodes or relays. One pole switches each of the lights, with each light hooked to the center of the switch. One light is switched between the backup signal and a 12V source. The other light switches between 12V and nothing. In the diagram below the 0 are poles of the switch. Hope this helps,
Dave

light +--------|
12 V-------0 0 0--------------backup signal
light +--------|
12 V-------0 0 0

5-90 said:
It's entirely possible I'm missing somehting, but what are you trying to de, exactly? Just wondering...

5-90

i'm putting two lights on the rear of my jeep to serve as auxiliary back-up lights and rear work lights.