• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Why does everyone recommend RE???

budha808

NAXJA Forum User
I just spent the weekend installing a RE 3.5 sf kit. I picked out this kit from reading this forum and talking to everyone I could.I currently have not tested the result of my lift as I am waiting for shocks but I can tell you this, most of the Christmas toys I assembled this year had better instructions. I cannot believe after spending over $600 (with adj track bar and extended shacks) that I got 3 pieces of note paper, single sided as instructions. The track bar instructions do not even talk about how to assemble the heim joint end you are just suppose to 'know'. You are also just suppose to guess which direction the shackles are suppose to go in.

Granted I am a shade-tree mechanic but come on for $600 and with there reputation I was expecting a 9 page color instuction manual with photos of nearly every nut and bolt. When I called RE 'Mike' told me the instructions I have are the updated ones and everyone has been very happy with them...well I guess I am just expecting to much but you would think RE would take some of that money they are making and invest in a &*%$ digital camera and photo printer.

They assume (correctly or incorrectly) you know where everything goes.

Everything go on ok?

When you look at the shackle and hold it in place you see that the cutout is for slearance on the little subframe box...

When you step back and look at it it is sometimes more simple. A different perspective if you will...

And just be happy you didn't buy a kit from Rusty's...you want bad instructions, Those take the cake LOL!!

In the end (I think) everything went on correctly. Thats my problem, without good instructions I don't know if everything in correct and I hate that 'try it out and see' method.