• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Best tires for wheeling in Socal

Luke

NAXJA Forum User
Trying to plan out my little XJ project, 6inch lift and 33s I live in San Diego and Im New to the off road thing and wanted some opinions on what tires to get, I know every one ask well what kind of wheeling will you be doing, Well Im gonna be limited to the San Diego Area and maybe once a year in Minnesota where I have family so Im guessing a good all around off-road I've been thinking just BFG Mud terrains, But I would like some opinions on what you think would be the best tire for off roading and good wear also!

i believe you'll find the goodyear mtr's the most favorite...the only neg is the price..but the best all-around trail tire to run. aprox. price...$165.00 ec. the tread and side wall protection can not beat. also, the tire of choice of the west coast get'it crew!! just a note: most the guys i know that are running the bfg's will change to the mtr's next time. remember...do it right the first time.....

I run both, BFG M/T's on my XJ and MT/R's on my YJ. The MT/R's ROCK! But there is very little difference between the two, the MT/R's stick to the rocks slightly better but they suck in mud. The BFG's are a little better in mud, but Im not saying they are good. Street performance the MT/R's win, they are quite....and I mean QUITE compared to my BFG's. They are both wearing down the same and I will get lots of miles out of the two. The only reasion I went with BFG's on my XJ was because MT/R's dont come in a 33"x10.50" size, they are only 33x12.50. I like them both, but the MT/R's are nicer on the street and stick a little better on the rocks.