• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Catalytic converters availabilty

Xtreme XJ

NAXJA Member #1138
NAXJA Member
Hey All;
I just ordered the cat. back & wanted/need to replace the cat. Summit told me that for a Calif. 96 with the OBD II they couldn't sell me one.
Any ideas as to where to get one that has good flow with a O2 sensor and 50 state compliant? Is the dealer the only choice ?
Thanks for any thoughts & info...
Curt (aka Xtreme XJ)

You will not fine a legal after market cat with a good flow. There are some after market (OBDII) cat that just came out on the market that are cheaper then the dealers cat and are Ca Smog legal. I'm a Smog Tech in Ca and seen some of the worst attemps at making a none OBD II cat in to a OBD II cat. I can check with may parts dealer to see if they will sell to the public the OBD II cat and the price if you would like?

Mud
So there no source for John Q. public to walk into and buy a cat. that flows better? It would basicly be a stock cat.? I guess if I can't get "better" than stock then where can I get a comparible one?
Thanks for the help & info. & the offer.
Curt (aka Xtreme XJ)

I run a random technology high flow cat on my 97. You can order these direct from them and they are legal in all 50 states. The price tag was enough to convince me to build a skid plate. There is a littel sticker shock, but they are still quite a bit cheaper than the daeler.

Here is a pic of SpinTech's cats. The larger one, is the hi-flow cat, the smaller, is the super hi-flow. The super does not flow better than the regular hi-flow. The 'super' is in reference to the size. The reg is $70, the super is $100.