• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Welded rear ?'s

RalphXJ

NAXJA Forum User
First of all, i've searched and couldn't really find the answer i was looking for! My 92 is basicly stock, upcountry "lift" and 235/75 Kumho Venture MTs. I'm thinking of welding the rear, cause i'm a poor college student with no job, there-for I can't buy a locker. I have been reading about the goods and bads of welding, and my question is, how fast will my tires wear down? I know this wont be an exact answer, but a ball park figure? I have put probably 5000-10000 miles on these tires, and want them to last about another year or more(till I lift it and go with 33s). So my question is, if i weld it, will I be looking at new tires every 6 months, or will they last longer then that? Also, for the street driving, how much will my turning radius be affected? Thanks for reading all of this!

Aaron

Aaron/Ralph,

First, ask yourself, "Self, how much farther into the backcountry am i going to get on a welded rear? Is my current height and tire size the limiting factor, or is traction my limiting factor?"

I would not weld a rear axle on a stock vehicle. Hell, I would never weld any axle on any vehicle. I understand your motivations, but think before you burn! Do you want to be barking tires around every corner? Do you want to slide around in snow storms?

College hotties are not impressed by barking tires (trust me on this, I had a Detroit in my rig when I was in college).

CRASH

I would recommend against welding the axle on a stock rearend, and if you go to 33's I would recommend it even less. You tire wear will be determend by how much seat time you spend on the street. Save up, in what you save in tires, you could buy a locker.

And Crash.....are you sure it was the tires that turned the hotties away?

Rev