• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

5150 boyz......

CRASH

NAXJA Forum User
NAXJA Member
All you Bilstein 5150 boyz out there....which valving did you use for the front shocks on your rigs?

CRASH

Andy,
I've never run Bilsteins, but I've been running Sway-A-Ways for the past 5 months or so. In that time I have revalved them 4 times, & I'm ready to revalve them a 5th time. Knowing your propensity for going fast & also enjoying trails like the Hammers (the need for major front end rebound control), I think the 5150's will be too soft for your rig, at least the front. I think you would be happier with the 7100's, & then be ready to tune them over time to get your desired results.
I'm assuming the 5150's, like the 5100's, are not revalvable.
Paul

I've been thinking about the high bling factor shocks for a while now, the SAW's and the Fox's are really nice. I guess you are right, with my propensity for air time, I'm going ot need something that I can play with.

Plus, now I have the advantage of using your knowledge as the guinea pig! Nice.

Did you get your SAW's from PolyPerformance? Are they Remote resi's or emulsion? 2" or 2.5"?

Andy

I've got 50mm bore (2"). They are setup for a remote Res. but I am not running them. I have tuned them for slow speed rock crawling & don't feel need for remote Res. (extra weight), I might add them later. Nevertheless, they are incredible at high speed J.V. running. Knowing you, you definitely need something you can rebuild yourself. There is a HUGE difference in how they perform with different rates, you just have to decide what area you want to sacrifice for another.
I got them from SAW, they asked me to help them develop these shocks for XJ's.
Paul