• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

my OBA diagram - will it work?

EricsXJ

NAXJA Member #616
NAXJA Member
I bought that Viair 400C compressor I was talking about but it didn't come with any wiring instructions at all. So I've looked at all the OBA diagrams I could find online (since I'm not a master electrician or engineer...) but couldn't find one that matched my plans exactly. I don't plan on using a tank, because that will work against me when I use it for filling tires. The OBA will be used for just that - tires and ARB lockers. So, do you see anything wrong with this system?

wiring3.jpg

I'm going to mount the compressor in the rear of the XJ in that cubby hole across from where the spare tire was. I'll have to cut out some of the plastic to get it to fit in there.

I'm planning to have a hose quick connect at each corner of the XJ just under the tail lights. Thats a convenient spot on my rig and I think it will be well protected.

The on/off switch, I plan on getting a factory aux switch that goes right next to the rear wiper and rear defrost switches on my 2000 (I think this is where the factory fog light switch usually is, but I don't have that.)

That'll work fine. On my York install I wired the relay the same and mounted the pressure switch ON the air manifold, the other thing you may want to add is an unloader valve ahead of the air manifold and after the compressor. The unloader vents the pressure in the line between the compressor & manifold, this way the compressor isn't having to start up under a load. A filter wouldn't hurt either.

On my setup the pressure switch is 110 ~ 145 psi and I've got a 3.5 ga tank for the ARB & filling tires. The tank fits well on the driver's side cargo wall.