• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

PRACTICAL roll protection devices

92xjsp

NAXJA Forum User
Well, the gyroscope and weight accelerator systems drove me off that other thread :)

I still want to explore the idea of what practical steps you can take to deal with rollover risk. I’ll admit I’m a web wheeler – I’ve had a stock XJ for 6 years and a stock YJ 6 years before that, and I wheeled them both pretty aggressively for stock, but that’s nothing compared to what lots of you guys have done, and the only times I’ve come close to rolling were purely accidental. So I’d like to benefit from your advice.

But even though I’m a newbie, there are some things I just don’t buy, like (1) there’s nothing you can do about rollovers, you just have to accept it when it happens, or (2) that you guys are taking it “right up to the edge” but that you’ve only rolled 3 times or 5 times or whatever. I canoe a lot and I know some blowhards who’ll say “I take my canoe to the edge all the time and I’ve only swum (slang for capsizing) 2 times in my life!” Well, I’m not a newbie to canoeing so I know you can’t possibly even know where the edge is unless you flip 20 times a year. I suspect the same applies to wheeling.