• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

some basic newbie questions

copperhead

NAXJA Member #984
Well, my new 87 XJ just passed state inspection and I am looking at some accessories. First, however, I am curious about the basics as I am new to 4wd vehicles. It has a bit over 265,000km on the clock and the friend who gave it to me said he had only used 4wd about 4-5 times in the snow when he was living in Winnipeg. He bought it off the original owner, a friend of his, with only 11,000km. the vehicle in question is an 1987 XJ Laredo, 5-speed with Command Track 4wd, tail mounted spair. It also has a dealer installed cruise and towing.

1. I have heard that 4wd systems need to be engaged to keep them lubed. Are there any possible problems with one that hasn't been used much? My plan at this time is to change all fluids run it a bit, and change again.

2. How can I identify what diff's and other 4wd bits it has?

3. The dealer mounted cruise control has not worked for years. Do any of the new kits work well? I plan to take it off and not replace it, if there aren't any good alternatives. I do make trips to visit family in Atlanta though, and after 1,200 miles cruise sounds good.

Thanks for any help,

Copperhead- New Hampshire, USA
1987 XJ Laredo, 4.0, stock

congrats on the new XJ...

1. IMO i think thats a bit of a myth.. but i'm sure there are some t/cases that require this.. but i could be wrong.. i'll refrain from anymore input on the chance of getting shot by the SPOBI police..:D
2. the front diff will only be a Dana model 30.... you said it's a command-trac model so that means NP-231 ( as long as you do not have a full time 4WD positiion).... here's a link for the rear axle ID..

http://www.highriders.ca/documents/axle_spotter_guide.htm