• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

8.8 Rear End Install

XJOFFROAD

NAXJA Forum User
Sorry guys but Im new at this. I have a 90 XJ, just got a RE 5.5 kit for it. I want to run 35 SSR's under it so I need to get a heavier duty rear end first. Im looking into the 8.8 because its cheap but I have NO welding or fabing skills.

Is it easy to do this ??

What do I need to do for this to work ??

How would you go about it ??

Maybe I should find a D44 that would bolt right on ??

Please help me out here Im so lost !! :dunno:

Mountain Off-Road Enterprises sells everything you need. Just find someone to weld the parts on and you are in business.

B~

if you cant do everything yourself than i recomend that you just get a 44 and bolt it in. i did the 8.8 and it was a lot of work. jack

XJOFFROAD said:
Maybe I should find a D44 that would bolt right on ??

At first I would look for a d44 from an XJ. You could try this link and call around in the yellow pages. If you can't find one then go to a 8.8, but you never know you may have a d44 close by and it is going to be easier. On top of that it is the correct width.

http://car-part.com/

Curt

I looked in to getting a D44 before I did my 8.8 swap. The D44s are becoming more and more rare, as they were only used in 87-89 XJs with the heavy duty towing option. One D44 I found was so rusted that it was really just a housing, everything else had to be replaced. A D44 will run $450 where a 8.8 can be found for $350. The 8.8 has discs. The mileage on the D44 is going to be much higher than the 8.8 because it's 10 years older. The 8.8 I got was out of a 98.

So do what you will, but I would highly recommend the 8.8 over the Dana 44.

B~