• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

383 Vortec XJ Swap

madman23

NAXJA Forum User
This is my first attempt at builting what I consider the ultimate offroad XJ. I am in the process of implanting a 383 vortec in my 85 Xj. For a tranny I plan to use a TH350 and a NP205 transfer case.
I also plan on custom fabing a pair of Ford 9" axles to handle the extra hp and torque

Any advice will be extremely helpful. Thanks

Glad to see that you chose us to help. May I first to be the one to ask what exactly you are wanting help with? This will help everyone become more precise answers or even questions.

Matt

"Do unto others as you would want done unto you!"

My main concern at this point is the front coil springs. I am worried that they will not be stiff enough to handle the extra weight. Is this a problem, and if so is there a stiffer spring from something else that might be a a good sub.

Welcome, newbie.

Well, if all you want to know is if the coil springs will support the weight of the SBC, then you will sail smoothly through this project. The weight of the SBC is only about 80# more than the 4.0. Not sure how much more than the 2.8 in the 85, though.

Now, you should really be concerned with all the engine and tranny management, engine mounts, crossmember, sheet metal mods, smog, cooling and exhaust. But truly, thats just detail work.

good luck

SeanP

That is going to be an issue now isnt it! C-ROK on this board runs a built 350 Corvette motor from the 90s. Not sure on what year or block model. but it is .030" over and has a TON of power none the less. He runs airbags in the front of his rig. That may be an option. But there is a group in yahoo, that the members float on here too, are all running v8s in there XJs. hope that helps a little.

MATT