• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Help me decide RE 4.5 or 5.5

h.curtis

NAXJA Forum User
Hi all. I was wondering if anyone had experiences with these lifts? I am not sure which one I should get. I drive my '96 Jeep every day and on the highway at 70+ mph. I hope not to give that up. I have a 4" AAL Trailmaster lift with a transfer case drop that has been great for over 100K miles. Nothing every went wrong until I towed an over weight trailer for over 1000 miles. Now the leafs are shot and the whole system is really in need of replacement.

What are the + and -'s on these two lifts? Do I need two new driveshafts, SYE and dropped pitman arm on both? I have a '96 and I heard they don't like the big angles and I don't want vibrations due to angle.

Thanks for any help,
Curt

It really depends on what you want. What size tires do you want to run, are your axles geared for that size tire? The main idea of a lift is to fit the biggest tire possible and to keep the COG as low as possible. Unless your doing it for looks, then things like gears does not really matter. Both are good, both can be added upon, it depends on how high youe want to go.

Both have the posiblities of causing driveline vibrations, and would idealling require a SYE.

Both may have issues with steering linkages.

Both may have issues with crontrol arm angles, unless the 5.5 has the drop brackets.

What is constant the higher you go, the more you will need to attend to. Just be prepared if it does not go as easy as expected.

I would have to agree with everything XJ chuck said. Steering linkage can be a problem, control arm angles, SYE and new rear driveshaft. Brake lines are something else.