PDA

View Full Version : Booster Upgrade

mgracer
October 9th, 2017, 20:57
I have a '91 Cherokee and have removed the goofy booster & master cyl.
Exactly what year & model Cherokee has the parts I need to upgrade my brakes & be as bolt-in as possible? I have read a lot of conflicting ideas & would like to know what works best. Thanks!

Johnnie Walker
October 9th, 2017, 21:32
95-up XJ, ZJ, should be plug n pray. WJ booster will work as well

There may be a write up on here somewhere

clydefrog
October 9th, 2017, 21:46
I did a WJ booster and master on my Renix XJ. I did make a 1/4" spacer for mine out of steel so the brake pedal would sit in a good location (cant remember if the spacer was necessary though). other than that it was plug and play. Best brake mod I have ever done!

I also added a Willwood adjustable proportioning valve to dial it in (that was def NOT plug and play).

ehall
October 9th, 2017, 22:05
95-96 booster is essentially bolt-in compatible (97-up has different pedal setup). If you upgrade the MC at the same time you will need to change the ends of the short lines that go to the distribution block to metric bubble flare. WJ upgrade is also compatible but you will need to clearance the pinch seam on the firewall to have room for the booster.

Francesco
October 10th, 2017, 08:19
I did the WJ swap on a '90 Renix. No spacer needed, but slight clearancing was required. If I remember correctly, however the newer XJ booster required a windshield reservoir relocation.

burntkat
October 10th, 2017, 09:16
All of this relocation and the like is exactly why I'm going hydroboost!

mgracer
October 10th, 2017, 09:48
Burntkat, please tell me more about the hydroboost.

mgracer
October 10th, 2017, 10:16
Should I get a booster, mc, prop. valve, & pedal assembly from a '96 Cherokee or a '98 Grand Cherokee?

Green XJ Jeep
October 10th, 2017, 13:02
Dual diaphragm from a 95-96 XJ is you best option for an easy bolt on.
WJ will work but need some modifications.