• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Junkyard Lift - Safely Removing S10 Leaf Springs

simspace

NAXJA Forum User
I have a question about safely removing S10 leaf springs at the junkyard, which I've never done before.

I'm hoping to do a junkyard lift on my '91 XJ. I received my Rusty's 3" HD coils for the front yesterday. And I was hoping to start the bastard pack today.

My son and I found 6 possible donors at the junkyard, but went home empty handed.

My first mistake was that I left the house with every tool under the sun except PB Blaster. :doh:

The problem was the U-bolt nuts. I was able to break them with a breaker bar. But my battery-run impact wrench just does not have the torque needed to finish the job.

I'm thinking I need to release the weight of the rear axle off the leaf springs? Maybe that will enable me to more easily turn the U-bolt nuts? If so, I'm just not sure how to do that safely at the junkyard.

If anyone has some ideas how I can safely removing S10 leaf springs at the junkyard, I'd appreciate any advice!

Thanks,
Chris

Last edited:
Last set I did I used a long breaker bar with an impact socket and just broke the u bolts.
You aren't going to re use them so no point in trying to save them and with a long enough her they pop off pretty easy

Last set I did I used a long breaker bar with an impact socket and just broke the u bolts.
You aren't going to re use them so no point in trying to save them and with a long enough her they pop off pretty easy

That's an awesome idea! Thank you.

Did you do the U-Bolts first, then the two frame mount bolts?