• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

96 aw4 no reverse, od, and running hot on Interstate speeds

Eerielayne

NAXJA Forum User
Alrighty, I'm new to the world of jeeps as of a few weeks ago. Funny enough I'm also brand new to automatic transmissions (just as I get a vehicle with transmission faults). I want to preface this by saying that I have no CEL and I scanned the computer to be safe and there is nothing pending or posted. I bought the jeep with no reverse for $900 and it happened to have a problem with overheating on the highway (anything over 45mph would overheat it). I treated the problem like I would any other overheating scenario, flush, thermostat, Rad cap, then radiator, then fan clutch and water pump :mad: after doing the water pump and fan clutch the overheating issue seems to be resolved, however it still runs hot if I'm going speeds of 70+mph (around 230°). I looked over the whole cooling system again and checked for leaks or anything signifying that I did something wrong. After this I got to thinking outside the box and read around about peoples rpm on the highway, at 60mph I sit at 3000 rpm and at 80mph I'm at 4000rpm, APPARENTLY that's not normal. If you've read this far, I apologize but I wanted to get my whole story out to prevent any misleading. I know very little about automatic transmissions as I've always owned manuals, so I don't know where to look for the problem. After tons of research for several days I can't really find anyone with my same exact issue. Keep in mind I have no CEL! Thanks for reading!

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

Really need to know the year and engine.