• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

OMG, hood lifts !!!!!!

RCP Phx

NAXJA Forum User
I can't believe I've never done this before(after 16yrs with this XJ). Anyway back in 2012 I had a stroke, and I haven't had use of my right arm since therefore I haven't been able to lift my hood in 4yrs! This morning I installed the WP hood lifts, now I can open/close it with one hand!

Similar story, can not longer do heavy lifting, planning to use these on 4 of my jeeps after having done some research/shoping. Mine are 85-89, the one you used will not work on the older hood set ups. Could make my own with old rear hatch lifts, but have too much work and too many projects these days

http://www.redlinetuning.com/SearchResults.asp?Search=Jeep+Cherokee+1987

All I can say is, NICE !!

Oh, it sucks liking to DIY and suddenly no longer being able to lift more than a gallon of water, and barely being able to do that. Lost 80 lbs, 1/2 of which was muscle mass in 2014, now have chronic severe rheumatoid arthritis and can no do heavy exercise to rebuild the lost muscle. Learning new ways and new tools to get things done but need a buddy to help more often than not.

Yeah, that does suck.

If they went a little further, you could still pull your engine. I wonder how hard it is to pull it down? I'm pretty tall and it's most of my reach to prop it up with only a mild lift and tires.

Piece of cake now, I'm only 5'8" with a 6" lift!

No, and the pull it takes to close is very minimal. It is extremely well balanced.

Always toyed with doing this. Saw these awhile back that made me start thinking about it. Kinda figured you could make your own for half the price though.
To RCP Phx:
What are the WP hood lifts you are talking about?

To Ecomike: