• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

1999 Xj cuts off cel resets itself

Notenoughboost1

NAXJA Forum User
I've been having this issue since I got the jeep. Every now and then the engine light resets itself and my jeep shuts off. When it rains it doesn't want to run at all. This thing is making me want to trade it in. I have been a mechanic for a long time and this thing is stumping me. When it acts up randomly it will shut off every time you make a right hand turn. I don't have a lot of money to throw into this thing so I'm hoping someone can help me out with this.

Last edited:
Explain "the engine light resets itself and my jeep shuts off".

Is the Check Engine Light ON ?

So you have a cel, and then it disappears after the jeep stalls? Bad battery terminals or grounds somewhere if that's the case.

Sent from my HTC M9 using Tapatalk

Went over all the grounds and has new battery and terminals. I'm thinking it is the computer but was hoping some one had the same problems before I spend the money on a new computer.

It also throws the same codes all the time p0340 and p1391 which are cam sensor codes. Has a new own distributed and I ohmed the wires from computer to distributor and all is good there

PCM failure is very rare. Problem solve for the trouble codes. The right turn shut-off and rainy day issues very strongly suggest wiring/wire connector/ground issues Suspect that the cam sensor needs to be synchronized. Read this -> http://jeep.blackonyx.net/pdfs/jcss.pdf

P0340 JEEP - Camshaft Position Sensor Circuit

Possible causes

- Faulty Camshaft Position Sensor
- Timing chain stretched or jumped
- Camshaft Position Sensor harness is open or shorted
- Camshaft Position Sensor circuit poor electrical connection
- Dead (Weak) battery

P1391 JEEP - CMP or CKP Signal Intermittent Condition