• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

General question on replacing mounts and HB

shmicah

NAXJA Forum User
Hello All,

I have a 1999 XJ 4.0 Limited (Automatic transmission /4WD) with about 188k miles on it. I've had this car for 12 years and it is my daily driver. Recently it broke down on me and made me realize there are probably many things that need fixing.

I am new to major car repair (worked in mechanic shop when I was 16 and learned the basics of maintenance) and so I have been lurking these forums looking for things to fix. So far I have changed my valve cover gasket, spark plugs and cables, as well as distributor cap and rotor.

Next thing on my agenda is motor mounts (going with brown dog rubber).

While researching on this I have decided to go ahead and replace transmission mount and harmonic balancer at the same time.

I've done lots of research already and am making this thread as a kind of placeholder in the event I run into issues.

Before I start though - I am curious, what order would yall recommend I go in?

Here's my understanding:

1. Remove radiator and shroud to access HB
  2. swap HB
  3. Loosen transmission mount
  4. slightly jack up engine at oil pan with a piece of wood between to take pressure off MM.
  5. replace MM one at a time (does it matter which side first?)
  6. tighten new MM all the way
  7. replace transmission mount
  8. lower car back down
  9. tighten transmission mount?

Or can I put car back down after relacing MM and then replace transmission mount?

I know I am probably being overly cautious, but this is the first "major" car repair I will be doing alone - and I don't want my GF to come home and find my dead body smashed under a motor. :angel: