• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

302 or 4.0?

96xj4.0

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys I'm new to this whole thing I've had my xj since I was 16 and have rebuild the aw4, transfer case, front and rear axle and now the 4.0 is knocking really bad. My question is should I just pull it out and drop a 302 or 350 in it or should I just rebuild the 4.0? If 4.0 want are some good parts to put on it like cam, intake, header, so on. Oh and I don't want to stroke it I would like to still use pump 87 gas. Thanks

i wouldnt wste your time with a 350, 302 would be cool as there not many done and there smaller and lighter, aslong as your going for a mustang or explorer one and not the crappy truck 5.0. in the end you still cant beat a LS swap

The ones in the trucks are crap? Didn't know that also didn't know they put a 5.0 in the Explorer. But wouldn't I have to swap out the aw4 when I dropped the v8 or does someone make an adapter.

For "easy", I'd build a stroker out of the 4.0
For "V8", go straight to the LS swap. A chevy 350 is second place. I'm not a chevy partisan, just talking power per unit of pain & money. Yeah, I think you'll need to change transmissions etc. The 4.8 liter LS sometimes came with an NV3500, which is darned similar to a trans that came in later model Cherokees, so if you gotta have a manual that's a place to start looking.
The 302 has had it's day and it's day is over. It just doesn't make enough power per dollar to be worth the hassle of swapping into anything that didn't already have one. Maybe if you already own one and the swap would be dead easy, sure, but be realistic about the work involved in a V8 swap and the actual price difference between 302 vs LS.