• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Heater Core Second Opinion?

ProjectHalfDone

NAXJA Forum User
Ok so...it's probably the heater core.

2000 XJ.

White smoke/fog coming out of the side vents sometimes.

Constant fogging on the windshield.

HOWEVER....it still blows hot air, no problem. So am I just in the beginning stages of this? (It's been doing this for...about a year, getting worse lately, don't judge. I'm a super-broke grad student) The fogging gets WAY WORSE if I use the heat so...I don't use the heat. I don't smell antifreeze...I don't think....a few times I've smelled kind of a burning smell but I was behind other older vehicles seriously every time and convinced myself it was them and not me. I do have a film on the window when I try to wipe it down but that might be from the anti-fog spray I've used...or maybe from the heater core.

Flush the heater core?? Any chance of that helping? Or should I just suck it up and take a weekend and pull it apart. I saw a couple threads saying to replace the evap system too while I'm in there? I really, really, really, really do not want to pay someone $700 to replace a $40 part. I've got a PDF version of the service manual and then all the threads with instructions and youtube...

So do I try flushing it first? Any chance I could make things worse that way?? So far I don't have any moisture coming in on the passenger carpet. I read that that was a sure sign but....nothing yet. Just don't want to cause that to happen.

Thanks!

If it is leaking, flushing it will make the leak worse. Been there, done that.

If it is fogging up your windows, chances are it is leaking.

If it is leaking, it will still provide you with heat as there is still coolant circulating through the core.