• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Advice on contact pattern

squint_91

NAXJA Forum User
I'm right in the middle of setting up my Dana 44, 4.56, ARB combo. I could use some advice on contact pattern before I go any further. This is my 2nd attempt at setting the inner pinion shims (increased from 0.042 to 0.045"), and 4th attempt setting backlash (currently 0.008-0.009").

Drive side
J4p7uYT.jpg

Coast side
azH6Q8R.jpg

Is the pinion too deep here? This is the difficult subjective part of the process where I have no experience.

I would say yes, Half moon shape with straight line on the root (bottom), means too deep so you need add pinion depth shims. I'd guess .004-.006 would get you there/almost there.

These guys are absolutely correct I stated shim change backwards.

Hah, that's what I figured you meant. Thanks for the advice! I can see it pretty clearly now after looking at the pictures for a while. The pattern at 0.042 was also too deep, I think I will remove 0.006" and check again.

I've seen a couple people mention that running a little deep is ok, which is a little surprising to me. But I get the rational - the case deflects under stress. I spent more time shimming and I think I got it pretty dialed in. This is really not as hard as some people make it out to be (with the proper tools anyway)

B/L sits at 0.007-0.008

ncfxXYw.jpg

That looks really nice. Good job!

Just wondering--did you have to pound out/pound back in the inner pinion bearing race each time you adjusted? I used a setup race recently but the results didn't match the final result when I swapped in the actual press-fit race.

Thanks! Very satisfying to get results after poring over threads and pictures, building the damn case spreader, and buying all the tools.