• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Project High Country XJ

jrmyers

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys and gals, my name is Jake and I’m from the Winston-Salem/Greensboro area of NC. I’m currently a sophomore climatology major at Appalachian State University and live in Boone. I plan to keep this thread updated for build progress of the Jeep but I’ll probably throw in some other shenanigans from time to time.

I traded my 1998 BMW 318ti with one of my coworkers' 2001 Jeep Cherokee sport in December of 2013. Said 318ti:

It was a fun little car that you could throw around but it required a steady diet of german car parts. Here’s the jeep when I first got it.

2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport
Chrysler 8.25 29spline rear
Dana 30 front
NP231
RE 3.5” superflex
Cragar D-windows 15x8 3.25” BS
Goodyear Wrangler Authority AT 31x10.50r15
1” t-case drop
Flowmaster super 44 with 3” pipe after muffler
60mm throttle body
Ford 784 injectors

I put a Surco Safari rack and tossed a mismatched spare on top and went wheeling:

Gave the fenders a trim job (whoops) :

They stuff pretty well

More wheeling.

Sold the rack to a friend with a 2 door.

Took it camping:

Added a transmission cooler and Autopal 55/100w lights with LMC Truck harnesses:

Fabbed up a Dirtbound Cut n Fold rear bumper.

And here are some from Uwharrie today. We ended up going down the last half of daniel and it was a good time.

This will be a slow build as I’m on a college budget, but this summer should involve lots of progress as I scored a full time job. I’d like to turn it into at least somewhat of an expedition rig that I can travel with. Current plans are:
SYE
Rock sliders
4.56's and front/rear lockers
skid plates
33x10.50 KO or KM2
front bumper
Hood vents
And, if I win the lottery, dual rate springs and new shocks