• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Wanting to do some maintenance on cooling system

98Redbird

NAXJA Forum User
I picked up a 2001 Cherokee Sport a few months ago, and my wife and I were going to use it this spring as we storm chase and travel in the spring/summer.

I am in the process of doing plugs/changing fluids, but have read that one of the best things that can be done is to update/overhaul the cooling system. (I use update/overhaul very loosly as I know that it's not really updating anything rather than just replacing/flushing/cleaning/etc).

But I was wanting to know what specifically you folks recommend me replace? I am new to the cherokees and the 4.0's which is why I'm asking. We will be driving a lot of miles and the temps outside could easily be in the 90's, so I want to make sure that the cooling system is healthy and up to the task.

The Jeep currently has 73,000 miles on it, so it's lower mileage still, but it's still 14 years old.

I have my degree in automotive and worked at a dealership for several years, so the mechaincal side doesn't bother me, it's just about learning to become familiar with a new car, which is why I'm asking you folks :)

I'm aware of the head issue, and will be monitoring the coolant level every time I get gas, but I'm probably not going to pull the head off to update if it's still holding and not leaking. If it begins to have an issue, then I'll replace, but until then, I'll probably pass.

Also, one thing to note, temps generally are a tick under 210 for me here in central IL, it's cold outside right now. The heat usually takes a bit to come up to temp and doesn't blow incredibly warm. Not sure if that's a jeep thing, or if I may have some plugging going on in the heater core.

Thanks so much for the advice!