• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Repair time - What type fo Bondo?

desertred

NAXJA Forum User
I have a 4 inch patch of scaled rust that developed underneath the body molding of my '88 2-door XJ. It has rusted through to the inside in the worst places. I used a wire brush and some Emory paper to remove the scaled rust and treated the rusted area with some rust converter as a temporary fix. In moving forward, what type of filler (glass or putty) should I use on this repair? The Bondo site lists the Professional grade putty type of filler for newer vehicles. Is glass filler the way to go? Any tips on the repair would be helpful, as this is my first attempt at body work. Other than this, my XJ is rust free (outside of surface rust from rock chips).

Note: I would post pictures, but I don't have permission to do so. How do I get the ability to post pics?

The only way to properly repair rust is to cut out the affected part, and put metal back in.
I have used screws, rivets, brazing, and Mig welding.

Filler is used to smooth over the repaired area to cover imperfections and joints.
I find that if I make the repaired area must be slightly lower than the normal surface area I get better results. Be patient and apply in layers. Use a body file or wood file to work the pudy when it is 80-90% dry and you will cut down on a lot of sanding.

My favorite filler is DuPont Duraglass.

There is a FAQ in about how to post pictures in the Forum.

Definitely follow WB9YZU's advice and use metal. Even with rivets you can tap a recess in the metal and use filler to make it look perfect. I prefer "Rage Gold" from Evercoat: http://www.summitracing.com/parts/fge-112.

It sands nicely, is easy to apply, doesn't crack and finishes up very well.

HTH
Todd

There is a FAQ in about how to post pictures in the Forum.