• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Budget Build Tips?

BTaylor

NAXJA Forum User
NAXJA Member
Figured I'd just see what input I could get before I actually start ordering stuff. I'm still really new to the Jeep world. I've owned a couple XJ's but still don't know a whole lot.

98 4dr XJ Auto

This isn't extreme budget build but definitely is to an extent. Here are the current plans

- 4.5" Rough Country lift ($450)
- (5) 15x8's of some sort ($300ish)
- 32x11.50 : Leaning towards BFG All-Terrains ($845 shipped for 5 of these), had them on my last XJ and seemed to be a good all around tire
- Front/Rear Bumpers ($450)

That's about all I have planned to get me started, just the basics. Looking for any other suggestions that would be recommended with this setup.

I do have a 8.8 disc brake rear end sitting here that I have nothing in, I'm planning on doing that swap down the road. I really just want to get these main things done before winter really hits.

Any input in appreciated!

depends, how long do you want to keep this rig? my opinion is frame stiffeners first before anything else. then worry about a lift

frame stiffners, 3" lift 31's on stock wheels, money saved buy a welder and build your own bumpers

Buy good condition used lift parts and build your own bumpers and rock rails. I pieced together a complete RE 5.5" short arms/drop bracket lift for 1/3 of the brand new price. Save the frame stiffeners for later.

Might want to share what expectations you have as to where your XJ is to be driven.