• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Anyone got.....???

I have an AX-15 I've been sitting on for a few years that needs a rebuild. Jumps out of 3rd. IDK that I want to get rid of it though. I still want to build something with a 4 poper and an ax-15 some day! ;)

I have an AX-15 I've been sitting on for a few years that needs a rebuild. Jumps out of 3rd. IDK that I want to get rid of it though. I still want to build something with a 4 poper and an ax-15 some day! ;)

Haha i have a rebuildable core but it needs a tailhousing.

Im either trading red jeep for an mj or just going to swap a 5 speed into it. Either way ill need an ax15

An ax15 tailhousing? Or any other oem drivetrain parts that are in your way?
I have a parts AX15 I might be able to pull the tailhousing off of. Was gonna rebuild it, but it needs so much crap I might as well just use it for parts at this point.

Probably not gonna make it to the crawl, but I'll see if I can parts-train it to you if anyone from the NAC is going.

edit: You can get one off any 3.9/2.5L 5 speed Dakota, same reason as the tall shifter except that the tailhousing is literally exactly the same factory part number between the Dakota and XJ/MJ/ZJ AX15s (the YJ/TJ one is different due to tcase clocking but I've put an XJ AX15 into a YJ with no significant bodywork.) Or buy the whole thing and split it with this guy/keep what's left as spare parts...:

Gonna need the bellhousing from a 96+ 2.5L Dakota, jfyi. An AX5 bell won't bolt to it without expensive adapters and AX5s are weak, I've seen multiple blown up ones.

Last edited:
I have a parts AX15 I might be able to pull the tailhousing off of. Was gonna rebuild it, but it needs so much crap I might as well just use it for parts at this point.