• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Fixing a rust spot

Jeepguy03

NAXJA Forum User
Yesterday I noticed a rust spot on the roof of my XJ. The Jeep has 143k miles, and the rest of the body is spotless. I'm guessing there was a rust bubble here, and the paint flaked off a few days ago, because it wasn't there a month ago.

Here are some pics:

photo_2.jpg

photo_1.jpg

photo_3.jpg

How should I go about fixing this? I'm a college student, so unless its absolutely necessary I'd like to avoid a body shop. It is on the roof so I'm not too concerned about looks, I'd rather just get rid of the rust and prevent it from coming back. My dad said to sand it down (I have a dremel with sanding disk), use primer, and then paint it. I do have a can of factory matching paint I could use, as well as a can of clear coat. Any suggestions? How should I prep? What kind of primer should I use? I've painted things before, but they were mostly lawn equipment with crappy paint to begin with.

Thanks for any help!

You will need:

1) 80 and 320 grit sandpaper (home depot)
2) potentially a dremel (home depot)
3) possibly some rust remover (Autozone or O'Reilly's)

First, you need to sand every bit of that rust off until you are down to bare metal. Use the dremel if necessary (but this may gouge) and you can cover any little bit left with some rust remover. Any inkling of rust left will just reappear so this is very important.

I find the best results with the rust remover is when you leave it on for a couple of hours and wipe it off with water. After this, you will need to neutralize the remaining acid by wiping it with a wet cloth and letting it dry fully (1 hr).