• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

totally stock 96 XJ sport 4wd I6 93K cuts out loses power

gordoribm

NAXJA Forum User
We have owned since new. I have been chasing this problem for a couple of months but cannot seem to solve it. No check engine light- light does work with key on and engine stopped
> Seemed to be fuel starvation so dropped tank, cleaned it out and replaced pump, fuel pressure regulator and filter .. no change in cutouts
> drove it at 70 on freeway for 100 miles with flawless performance so figured fuel pump and injectors were operating
> After reading other posts replaced crank position sensor .. seemed to help some but problem never went away.
> questioned cam sensor and original ignition so I replaced the distributor with new (not rebuilt) including rotor, cam sensor, plugs and wires jeep didn't like this last change and cuts out more than ever even stalled once at idle today.
we don't trust it in heavy traffic or on the freeway.

considering coil replacement ? with no codes I wouldn't expect MAF or TPS but what else could it be? I need to fix the rear main seal and AC but need to fix this flaky engine first. need ideas and experience The 96 late manufacture (10-96) seems to be unique with its dizzy and coil so generic posts don't always help

A coil swap is easy and something to consider.

But with a 96 which is OBDII, I would also consider putting a scan tool on it and driving it. Then review the freeze frame data after the engine dies to see if that yields clues as to what dropped out as the engine died.

Time to start using some technology to determine root cause.

I too would suspect the coil, especially if the cutting out
happens after it's been driven awhile and warmed up.

These intermittant cut-outs are hard to diagnose...