• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Radiator foaming out of cap

Boudroux

NAXJA Forum User
NAXJA Member
I did a search here and on google and am hoping for the best. I'm new to jeeps. I've owned this for 5 months. 2000, 4x4, 4.0, automatic, 189k miles.

Since owning it I've put on 10k miles and it has run like a champ and still is.

Here is the problem. Yesterday I noticed antifreeze under the jeep after driving 15 miles. I checked the level right then and it looked normal. Today I made a short 2 mile drive and when I got to my destination I saw it dripping. When I opened the hood there was bubbly, almost like foam, antifreeze coming out from the radiator cap. After letting it cool a bit I removed the cap and the fluid level was low, it took two 16 oz water bottles to top off.

Once home I did some reading and see that it could be the head gasket or cracked head or for all I know this is normal and the cap is bad.

I've changed the oil three times since owning and each time the oil looked normal. Oil on the dip stick today looks normal. Jeep seems to be running normal and temperatures seem just fine, 200+/- on the gauge. I have not tried an alternate heat reading yet to verify the gauge in the dash however I tend to believe the gauge and sending unit is functioning properly based on watching the temperature changes during various driving conditions. In the morning the tail pipe drips water but goes away once warmed up.

No white smoke or check engine lights and passed smog with flying colors when I purchased it. So, before I go crazy on the engine I took this short video of the bubbling and was hoping for some pointers on things to check before declaring head issues.