• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Homemade LED tail light enclosures..

XJeepified

NAXJA Forum User
Here's how I addressed making my own LED tail light enclosures out of 16g sheet from the hardware store.

LIGHT%20IT%20UP

Open image in a new tab.... it's a slideshow.

And apologies for the mixed up upload.... it's my first attempt.

I don't see any upload. o_O
How did you do the wiring?
and where did you source the lights?

I look forward to seeing this :D

TAILLIGHT02.jpg

TAILLIGHT05.jpg

TAILLIGHT04.jpg

TAILLIGHT08.jpg

TAILLIGHT10.jpg
TAILLIGHT09.jpg

Wiring.... The reds operate as Brake/Tail, the ambers as Turn/Hazard, but with a switch and separate flasher the reds rapid flash/emergency vehicle style.

Actual units... from SuperBrightLEDS.com as well as flasher modules.

FYI.... You can wire LEDs to flasher controlled circuits directly without load issues if your XJ came with a towing package (non current reliant flasher).

Wiring.... The reds operate as Brake/Tail, the ambers as Turn/Hazard, but with a switch and separate flasher the reds rapid flash/emergency vehicle style.

Actual units... from SuperBrightLEDS.com as well as flasher modules.

FYI.... You can wire LEDs to flasher controlled circuits directly without load issues if your XJ came with a towing package (non current reliant flasher).

Oh really, do you tap into the tow wiring or can you use your normal taillight wiring?

Well I'll be, I didn't know there was a difference in how they were wired.
It was actually the difference between running my own light box or 2500 lights since I didn't want to figure the whole flasher module bit out right now. So thanks a lot

How are your bulbs mounted?

Last edited:
Are these the lights?

http://www.superbrightleds.com/more...-rectangular-stoptailturn-led-truck-lamp/563/